SABMiller logo


SAB announces Sports Media Awards 2012

16 August 2012

Media Release

Johannesburg, 16 August 2012: The South African Breweries (SAB) today announced the launch of this year's SAB Sports Media Awards, with entries opening on Monday, 3rd September.

Now in its 32nd year and remaining the only competition to applaud and reward outstanding work in the sphere of sports journalism in South Africa, the SAB Sports Media Awards has further evolved over the last year.

This has included increasing the prize money, updating the competition categories, introducing new judges and implementing an online entry and judging portal through which the competition will be run.

"After last year's Awards we spent time engaging with various stakeholders to get their feedback and input," says Robyn Chalmers, Head of Media and Communications for SAB.

"These learnings were then distilled into a workable plan that included the introduction of several new judges, revised categories and our new online entry portal where entrants can register and upload their entries and our judges can login, download and score."

Another innovation is to use the portal to invite nominations from the sporting media fraternity for a number of Awards that will complement the existing ones. Both the portal and the judging process will be fully audited by Grant Thornton.

Chalmers says: "Our Hall of Fame Award, Newcomer of the Year Award and Sports Personality of the Year Award all need input from outside of the judging panel. We are therefore appealing to all sports editors and sports journalists to register, login and nominate who they believe should win these accolades."

Although physical entries will still be accepted and subsequently loaded onto the new competition portal under the auspices of the auditors, competition entrants are encouraged to use the online system to enter any of the following sub-categories to stand a chance of winning the overall Sports Media prize of R25,000 per category.

The categories are divided as follows:


- Feature Writer of the Year
- Columnist of the Year
- News Reporter of the Year
- Overall Winner: Print Contributor of the Year


- Action Shot of the Year
- Overall Winner: Photographic Contributor of the Year


- Social Media Correspondent of the Year
- Sports Blogger of the Year
- Overall Winner: New Media Contributor of the Year


- Sports News Reporter of the Year
- Sports Commentator of the Year
- Sports Presenter of the Year
- Overall Winner: Radio Contributor of the Year


- Sports News Reporter of the Year
- Sports Commentator of the Year
- Sports Presenter of the Year
- Sports Producer of the Year

Overall Winner: Television Contributor of the Year

As part of this year's Awards, Castle Lager have launched "The Castle Lager Superfan Moment of the Year" as an additional category. This award is across all disciplines and will be awarded to the candidate who best captures fans or people who have been brought together by sport. This prize is also worth R25 000 for the winning entrant.


- Entries for the SAB Sports Media Awards 2012 open on 3rd September 2012 and close at 5pm on Wednesday 19th September 2012.
- Entrants should submit work produced between 1st August 2011 and 31st August 2012.
- Winners will be announced at an Awards Function on the evening of Thursday, 8th November 2012 at the Wanderers Cricket Club.

For more information, please visit:

Follow @SAB_Limited #SABsportsmedia on twitter or like on facebook for regular updates.

Issued on behalf of:

Prema James

Public Relations Specialist

The South African Breweries Limited

Tel:              +27 11 881 8414

Fax:             +27 86 681 4715

Mobile:          +27 82 924 1667



Chris Verrijdt

Managing Director

Dark Horse Communications

Tel:              +27 11 027 8770

Mobile:          +27 82 784 6645


This is a SABMiller subsidiary news release, it was first published in its local market on [16/08/2012].

Back to news index


Share to...

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Delicious
  • Stumbleupon
  • Reddit
  • Digg
  • Yahoo
  • Google